Will History Repeat in 2019?

There is an old saying in rugby league: history repeats, it is only the cast that changes.


So here at Who Tipped What, we try and give our tipsters the edge – and we delve further back than anyone else. All the way back to the dawn of the greatest game of all!


So here we go… back to 1909 and each season ending in a 9.


Interestingly, three clubs have played in the grand final or won the minor premiership or premiership in these specific years.


Believe it or not but read on…


Now I know what you’re thinking. Alby, what’s this got to do with tipping?


Since 1909, Souths, Balmain and St George have all either appeared some way at the pointiest part of the year.


1909 Souths claim they won it but that’s another story

1919 Balmain win the crown to make it 4 out of the last 5 Grand Finals

1929 Souths again

1939 Balmain defeat arch rivals Souths

1949 Souths beat Saints

1959 Dragons claim their fourth straight

1969 Balmain again defeat Souths in another Grand Final where the rules where tested and play disrupted

1979 The Dragons win the premiership.

1989 Souths become Minor Premiers & Balmain suffered heartache in the big one against Canberra

1999 Dragons lose after a massive video referee decision.

2009* We all know Melbourne stole the GF but Saints were Minor Premiers

2019 Who will it be


Drum roll please!


Based on the above we’re predicting a Souths v Dragons decider.


Wayne Bennett against his old team, a side he last won the title with way back in 2010.


We can’t wait!


Oh and by the way, as a little sidenote, your author was born in Balmain, raised in Ashfield Wests Area, refereed in Souths Juniors & supports the mighty Saints!


Check all the Weekly Experts at







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *